top of page

First Follow-Up

So yesterday was a long day to say. Started with my normal breakfast in bed that is forced my Nane (my mother) because I will literally die if I don't have my meals on time. Well after our long drive and arriving about an hour late to my appointment due to an accident, I made it. I went in thinking I had a thousand of questions but they all seemed to be answered in 5 minutes. So of course the first person we see is the medical assistant. My first questions was, "Is it (the removal of my sutures) going to hurt or will they numb me"? He replied with "I don't think it should and, no, there isn't any numbing application. Plus, he is going to take a look to make sure that they are ready to come out". Ok, I can deal with this. I was praying by this moment that they were ready.

Now the doctor comes in, not my actual surgeon because he went on vacation the day after my surgery (of course). Well this guy was really cool. We started off with "How are you feeling?" Just by the way he asked, I felt like he wanted to know everything which was great. I went into every detail from the day after surgery like the nausea, tiredness and pain. The nausea lasted for about a few days just like the tiredness. I brought up my concern of me not feeling like I needed to sleep all day and he agreed, which my mother needed to hear, that I can be up doing things like being on my phone and computer. Then the most interesting part of this appointment was when he rubbed his fingers together by my left ear and asked if I could here that. Yes I could. Then he did the same to my right ear. Yep, I can hear that too. He had this look and explained that it was a good thing because most don't hear right away in the ear of the side that the surgery took place. He said that some people can take months for it to return or even lose it all together. Well, I felt completely blessed now.

Removal time. He took a look and agreed that they were ready to come out. Cleaned up the are with solution which only stung slightly but was told that he could because the liquid can go into the areas were the sutures were. As he began to tug away with the tweezers and whichever appliance he used to removed them, he was holding a flash light in his mouth. I had to hold off my questions then but asked that Taliyah (my daughter) take my phone and try to video it. Yes, both she and I are intrigued by watching things like this. If possible, I would of liked to watch my whole procedure, but that's me. Cool fact to know about me. Honestly, I was glad that this area is still numb because I could feel him tug at them but every once in a while some would hurt a little. It only took about 10 minutes and he was done.

Other questions I asked him were about the numbness and if it were normal. I guess I should expect that to last another couple of months. How active should I be at this point? Based off how I'm progressing, 15-20 minutes should be ok but don't over do it. We went over the medications and told him that I was only using the Oxycodone because I felt like I no longer needed the Valium, which I hated anyway, and the other one for nausea. He offered to prescribe something else which would help as well, Zanaflex. that I could take at night since it would make me sleepy. I felt good about the appointment and I know that my mom asked questions about what she was concerned about and he happily answered. She asked about me walking up and down the stairs. It is fine as long as I have railings. Could this have turned in to a brain aneurysm if it was never caught? No but it may have ruptured and caused hemmorrhaging. Either way, not good, had I waited.

My future expectations are another follow up on Jan 31st and the results from pathology that were not in yet. I am really anxious about that since that will tell us exactly what I had. Plus another great MRI in a few weeks. I should expect to have another after that one 6 months after that, then I believe one every year as long as things are looking good. So just like I say, we will take things a day at a time. Since this appointment was in the middle of the day and a great time for traffic to and from the visit, Nane, needed to stop at her old faithful, Starbucks. I chose to go for a tall decaf Chestnut Praline frappucino. We finally get home and at this point, I'm exhausted and all of a sudden nauseas. We all know what happened next. I think my body isn't ready for the drinks that I was used to, actually I think that my sensitivity to dairy has extremely increased. I was always somewhat sensitive but could throw back a Venti with no issues. Now I was dying to get in bed. Dealt with the bathroom all morning, took another nap, finally had soup and feeling a lot better. Of course, Nane had to add that I felt like that because I thought I was super woman trying to walk all through the hospital instead of her dropping me in front and over doing it. I will disagree and blame it on what I ate.

So till next time, please feel free to share my blog with anyone you know who that this may help. Good night!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page